The Success Family of CE Companies provides this information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to insurance continuing education requirements. Due to regulatory requirements we suggest that you contact your state department of insurance to insure that no regulatory changes have been enacted. Although ongoing efforts have been made to qualify that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither The Success Family of CE Companies nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.

License Status

Insurance Continuing Education Hours Required

  • **NEW: Texas increases ethics continuing education requirements The continuing education requirement for ethics increased from two hours to three hours per license period for licenses expiring on or after September 30, 2022. This change doesn’t affect the total number of hours required during the two-year licensing period. The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) will be providing more information on when licensees must complete the additional ethics training.** 

New Requirement to Sell Annuities in Texas

Effective January 1, 2022:

  • Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 1/01/2022 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course.
    • Licensees who have not completed a 4-hour annuity course must take the annuity best interest course prior to selling annuities.
  • Licensees can take the one hour course before the effective date of this regulation or up to 6 months after the effective date.
    • Producers do not need to submit information to the Department of Insurance, but should retain all course completion certificates so they can provide verification to their insurers.
  • Follow-up Training: Ongoing training must be completed every 2-year license period following the initial 4-hour training completion.
    • Residents and non-residents who have satisfied the annuity best interest training requirements of another state that are similar to Texas’ law will be deemed compliant for Texas’ annuity best interest training requirement.
  • https://www.tdi.texas.gov/agent/annuity_certifi.html
  • Click here to view your state Annuity CE requirement

State Specific Insurance Continuing Education Courses

  • 3-hours must be in ethics. The continuing education requirement for ethics will increase from 2-hours to 3- hours per license period for licenses expiring on or after September 30, 2022
  • All Texas licensed resident insurance producers who sell federal flood insurance policies shall be required to complete a one time 3- hour requirement on flood insurance
  • An individual may not sell, solicit or negotiate LTC insurance unless the individual is licensed as an insurance producer for Life and Health insurance and completed an 8-hours one-time training course and a 4-hour follow-up training course every 24- months thereafter in order to continue to sell LTC policies.

Insurance Continuing Education Renewal or Compliance Date for Licensees

  • License renewal date is the license issuance date, biennially.

Insurance Continuing Education Types of Courses Accepted

  • Independent self-study courses (including online courses), Classroom or classroom equivalent courses study, Insurance Professional Designations (Designation “parts” passed by national exam are usually worth 15 to 20- hours of credit), Insurance-related college/university courses, or seminars.

Monitor Requirements

  • Exams DO NOT require a monitor.

Reporting to Your State

  • $0.88 per credit hour is required to report to your state.
  • State Insurance completions are reported 2 times every business day. If course is completed after 2 PM PT, it will be reported the following business day.
  • CFP reports are sent on Friday at 2 PM PT to the CFP Board electronically.You may also self-report your CFP completions to www.cfp.net

Insurance Continuing Education Carryover Hours & Course Repetition

  • Carryover of excess CE credit hours is not allowed.
  • Credit will not be given for courses taken more than once in each biennial renewal period.

Insurance Continuing Education Exemptions

  • Individuals who have been licensed in Texas continuously for 20 years or more may apply for an exemption.
  • Extensions or exemptions for good cause may be granted by the Education Coordinator.
  • Nonresidents are exempt if licensed agent or adjuster is in good standing in home state and home state has a reciprocal agreement with Texas.

Method to Certify Completion

  • For Most States you will be able to print your certificate of completion online once you have completed your exam.
  • We usually report to the State Department of Insurance or regulatory board by the next business day.
  • It may, however, take your State DOI or regulatory board up to 30 days to report your completion results on their systems.
  • As an added service, we can Rapidly Report all of your completed courses the same business day (per credit order) for only $25.

Nonresidents

  • Initial Annuity Certification Requirement: Non-resident producers must complete the one time initial 4-hour certification course approved by the state of Texas. 
    • Non-residents are exempt from the ongoing annuity training requirement.
  • On-going Annuity Requirement: Not required for non-resident producers.
  • Initial LTC Requirement: A non-resident producer must complete an initial 8-hour NAIC LTC training course approved by the state of Texas. 
  • On-going LTC Requirement: A 4-hour follow-up LTC course must be completed before their compliance period is over. 

Department of Insurance Contact Information:

 Texas Department of Insurance

 333 Guadalupe Street.

 Austin, TX. 78701

 PHONE: (800) 578-4677

Agent & Adjuster Licensing
PHONE: (512) 676-6500
EMAIL: License@tdi.texas.gov

State Website: https://www.tdi.texas.gov/index.html

For a listing of the State Departments of Insurance websites provided by the NAIC (National Association of Insurance Commissioners),

Please go to: http://www.naic.org/state_web_map.htm

The Success Family of CE Companies provides this information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to insurance continuing education requirements. Due to regulatory requirements we suggest that you contact your state department of insurance to insure that no regulatory changes have been enacted. Although ongoing efforts have been made to qualify that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither The Success Family of CE Companies nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.