Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number:
Success CE, Inc. provides this information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to Alabama Insurance Continuing Education requirements. Our comprehensive guide provides essential insights for individuals fulfilling Missouri insurance CE obligations. To ensure compliance with potential regulatory changes, we recommend contacting your state’s insurance department. While we make diligent efforts to provide accurate and current information; Success CE, Inc. nor it’s employees warrant or represent that this information presented is accurate and current. All details are subject to change without notice. Stay informed and meet Missouri’s continuing education requirements by exploring the essentials of Insurance CE.
Missouri Department of Insurance Contact Information
Missouri Department of Insurance
PO Box 690
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0690
Phone: (573) 751-3518
Fax: (573) 526-3416
State Website: http://insurance.mo.gov/
Missouri Insurance CE Hours Required
- All insurance producers (agents) are required to complete 16 hours of approved CE biennially. If a producer is licensed more multiple lines the requirement is still only 16 hours and the producer does not have to divide the hours evenly among license authorities.
- Under previous law a producer who was only licensed in one line of authority had to complete 10 hours biannually and those licensed in multiple lines had to complete 16 hours.
New Requirement to Sell Annuities in Missouri
Missouri State-Specific Insurance CE Courses
- All Missouri licensed resident insurance producers who sell federal flood insurance policies shall be required to complete a one time 3 hour requirement on flood insurance.
- Effective with licenses that expire January 1, 2009 or later producers will be required to complete at least 3 hours in courses approved as ethics, Missouri Law, suitability, producers duties and obligations to the department. These course numbers will have an EL prefix.
- A producer shall not sell, solicit or negotiate a Qualified Long-Term Care Partnership Plan unless licensed for both life and health lines of authority and has completed a one-time eight (8) hour course in LTC training approved by the department of insurance. In addition, a producer shall not sell, solicit or negotiate a Qualified LTC Partnership Plan unless the producer has completed a four (4) hour follow up course in LTC training each biennial renewal period.
Insurance Continuing Education Renewal or Compliance Date for Licensees
- License renewal date is the license issuance date, biennially.
Missouri Insurance CE – Types of Courses Accepted
- Independent self-study courses or classroom.
- Exams MUST BE monitored by a disinterested third party for CE courses approved for 16 or more CE credits for a single exam.
Reporting to Your State
- $1.00 per credit hour is required to report to your state.
- State Insurance completions are reported 2 times every business day. If course is completed after 2 PM PT, it will be reported the following business day.
- CFP reports are sent on Friday at 2 PM PT to the CFP Board electronically.
- You may also self-report your CFP completions to www.cfp.net
Missouri Insurance CE Carryover Hours & Course Repetition
- Excess CE credit hours may be carried over to the next renewal period.
- Credit will not be given for courses taken more than once in a renewal period.
Missouri Insurance CE Exemptions
- Travel insurance agents who are representatives of a common carrier.
- Any person who sells credit life, accident & health or property insurance in connection with a loan.
- Persons who sell only title insurance or crop insurance.
- Any person who sells only pre-arranged funeral plan insurance.
- Any person who is at least 70 years old.
Method to Certify Completion:
- For Most States you will be able to print your certificate of completion online once you have completed your exam.
- We usually report to the State Department of Insurance or regulatory board by the next business day.
- It may, however, take your State DOI or regulatory board up to 30 days to report your completion results on their systems.
- As an added service, we can Rapidly Report all of your completed courses the same business day (per credit order) for only $25.
- The Licensee should Fill-out the Summary Report, and Submit it with their Insurance Renewal Form, to the Missouri Department of Insurance, prior to their renewal date.
Missouri Non-Resident Producer Requirements
- Initial LTC Requirement: A non-resident producer must complete an initial 8-hour NAIC LTC course approved by the state of Missouri OR complete an 8-hour NAIC LTC course from another state to fulfill Missouri requirements.
- On-going LTC Requirement: A 4-hour follow-up LTC course is required by the end of each CE compliance period.
For a listing of the State Departments of Insurance websites provided by the NAIC (National Association of Insurance Commissioners), please go to: http://www.naic.org/state_web_map.htm
The Success Family of CE Companies provides this information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to insurance continuing education requirements. Due to regulatory requirements we suggest that you contact your state department of insurance to insure that no regulatory changes have been enacted. Although ongoing efforts have been made to qualify that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither The Success Family of CE Companies nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.